Collections

Théière, vers 1870

Introduction

A museum of crockery?

We sometimes hear the Musée Ariana described as the 'crockery museum'. In reality, it is so much more: a museum devoted to the history and arts of ceramics, glassware and stained glass. Its collections cover a period of 1200 years, from the 9th century to the present day. The exhibits themselves come from Switzerland, Europe, the Middle East and the Far East.

Ceramics, glassware and stained glass, sometimes referred to as the 'fired arts', are notable for their intimate relationship with the four elements. The earth and sand below our feet provide the raw materials. These substances are then filtered or softened using water. Next, the kiln’s fire, fed by air, causes the materials to undergo a permanent transformation.

The close link that ceramics and glass have with nature explains not only their long history but also how attractive these materials remain in the present day to artists and industry alike. They connect us to nature. So, as you can see, the Ariana is much more than just a museum to the humble cup and saucer!

Service à thé avec sucrier et pot à lait. Manufacture de porcelaine de Langenthal (Suisse), 1958 Porcelaine, décor imprimé
Service à thé avec sucrier et pot à lait. Manufacture de porcelaine de Langenthal (Suisse), 1958 Porcelaine, décor imprimé
© Mauro Magliani & Barbara Piovan

Ceramics

A story of travel, between East and West

The arrival of Chinese white porcelain, first in the Middle East and then in Europe, caused one of the biggest upheavals in the entire history of ceramics. Until the early 18th century, the secret behind porcelain production remained a mystery to Europeans, and the continent’s potters resorted to alternative materials and techniques (such as slip-coated earthenware, faience or soft-paste porcelain) to compete with or imitate this precious 'white gold'.

Porcelain reached Europe’s ports by boat, at the end of a long and dangerous journey. These ships were chartered by European traders, particularly the powerful Dutch East India Company. All being well, it took a minimum of 18 months to make the round trip and return safe and sound.

The motifs that decorated the items, which were inspired by the codes of East Asian painting, were not always understood by European 'long noses'. As a result, over time they were adapted to the Western taste for florid, gleaming decorations. After all, market forces sometimes get the upper hand over mutual understanding and respect.

To increase demand, merchants ordered specific shapes and decorative designs from Chinese porcelain makers, even going as far as to provide them with their own 'Oriental' motifs.

Cobalt and kaolin: blue and white ceramics

Blue decorative elements on an immaculate white background are archetypal of Chinese ceramics. This is the most frequent colour pairing among all the collections at the Musée Ariana.

From the stonepaste of Persia and the faiences of Delft, to Meissen porcelain and the printed designs on English creamware: East Asian influence dominates and cobalt blue is omnipresent.

The fashion for all things blue and white has survived the perilous journey through space and time to the present day. It illustrates the wealth and diversity of the cultural and commercial exchange between East Asia, the Middle East and Europe. Numerous contemporary artists contribute to the endless process of reinterpreting and reinventing this traditional combination of blue and white.

Cobalt oxide has been used with great success to stain or decorate ceramics and glassware. Its powerful colouring capacity makes it an economical choice, and its resistance to the highest kiln temperatures is a valuable asset. Whether it’s a bright blue, a purplish blue or a blackish blue, the result sometimes reveals the region in which the precious ore was mined. These days, cobalt is more often found in our mobile phones or in the batteries of our electric cars.

Helvetica: does Swiss culture have its own identity?

Multilingualism, diplomacy, banking, cheese, watchmaking, mountains and chocolate often enter the minds of those who try to map out the cultural terrain of the land the Romans called Helvetia, nestled in the heart of Europe.

Swiss history has long maintained the image of a nation of farmers and mountain dwellers uniting against the enemy to save their independence, or of a rich adoptive country offering sanctuary, where people live in harmony with nature. Outlooks and ways of life differ greatly between city and countryside, Swiss natives and immigrants, and between German speakers, French speakers and Swiss Italians. Situated at a junction between multiple influences, and nurturing sobriety and good workmanship, Switzerland is a complex country.

The Swiss arts of ceramics and glassware, from the 14th century to the present day, reflect that contrasting and pluralist Swissness. Earthenware frying pans and crockery from Winterthur, slip-coated earthenware oven dishes and roasting trays from the countryside around Bern, enamelled glass bottles from Flühli, porcelain tableware from Nyon, creamware plates from Carouge or groups of porcelain figurines from Zurich: the array of forms, techniques, decorations and styles is astonishing and, in many cases, relatively unknown.

Ceramics and glassware: the art and industry take on the challenge of profitability

The changes brought about in the 19th century by the Industrial Revolution also affected the mass production of ceramics and glassware. From the origin of raw materials to technological research, from improving kilns and fuel to distribution of the finished products – all stages of the production process were optimised with a view to streamlining them but without losing sight of quality.

Right up until the present day, the production of ceramics and glassware on an industrial scale has continually fluctuated between economic and artistic priorities. Two factors threatened European manufacturing: competition from East Asian markets and changes in attitudes to dining. The switch from the traditional Sunday lunch – served on fine porcelain tableware with crystal glasses – to the tray of food gulped down in front of the TV was not without its consequences.

In Switzerland, the porcelain factory in Langenthal (1906) and the glassmaking workshops of Saint-Prex (1911) came to represent the turbulence that gripped the tableware industry in the second half of the 20th century. The way the story ended was often inescapable: Langenthal was relocated to the Czech Republic, and Saint-Prex gave up its artistic production, limiting itself to industrial jars and bottles.

Contemporary creation…freed from limitations

Long considered a type of craft whose output was largely utilitarian, the status of ceramics rose during the 20th century. Various artistic movements in Europe and the United States sought to treat ceramics as an art form in its own right. Craftsmanship was temporarily pushed into the background in favour of freedom of expression. Non-ceramicist artists like Lucio Fontana and Pablo Picasso began to work with the material, which offered infinite potential, and in doing so, artistic disciplines became intertwined and opened up.

In the 1980s, the Musée Ariana took up a position strongly supportive of the wide scope of contemporary expression through ceramics and glassware. It developed close links with artists, schools, gallery owners and collectors, organised exhibitions, created publications and regularly expanded its collections in this area.

In the 21st century, artists living in Switzerland find themselves in a pluralist environment, with three professional training centres in Geneva, Vevey and Bern/Biel laying the groundwork for the future: not bad for such a small country!

Glassware and stained glass: more than just hot air

Glass is as magical as a soap bubble: starting with a mixture of sand, soda and lime heated up in a crucible, the master glassmaker blows or shapes a viscous, red-hot material. This process results in containers, sculptures and sheets that are smooth and resilient, transparent or coloured, and that capture the light.

The development of this fired art in Europe, from the Renaissance to the contemporary era, involved an almost infinite array of techniques and master craftsmanship: glistening lead-rimmed glass used to create stained-glass windows in churches, engraved and filigree glass created by craftsmen on the island of Murano, glass painted with multicoloured glazes in Flühli in the canton of Luzern, overlaid layers of coloured glass made by Art Nouveau masters or contemporary glass reinterpreting all kinds of techniques.

Whether it’s turning up on tables, incorporated into architecture or erected in the form of a sculpture, glass is always with us, enhancing our daily lives.

The Ariana and looted art

The issue of looted art during the period of National Socialism (between 1933 and 1945) affects a lot of museums. The Musée Ariana has carried out research to identify and document pieces that could fall into this category.

It is often difficult to precisely trace back the history of objects in the field of ancient applied arts. Indeed, sometimes multiple copies of the artworks are produced (for example, Meissen porcelain figurines); only the decoration allows them to be formally identified, which is impossible unless there are photographs. In addition, ceramics and glassware are only very marginally concerned by the issue of looted art, which primarily affects the fine arts.

Lastly, we must emphasise that, for our institution, the issue of items looted by the Nazis is not the only concern related to the origin of the collections. Wrongful possession of objects, notably as a result of seizures during searches conducted at the places they were produced or used, must be verified carefully. As such, the acceptance of new pieces into our collection is now subject to a strict acquisition procedure.

Collections

Théière, vers 1870

Introduction

Un musée de la vaisselle?

On entend parfois dire que le Musée Ariana serait le «musée de la vaisselle». Il est naturellement bien davantage: un musée consacré à l’histoire et aux arts de la céramique, du verre et du vitrail. Ses collections couvrent une période de 1200 ans, du 9e siècle à nos jours. Elles concernent la Suisse, l’Europe, le Proche-Orient et l’Extrême-Orient.

La céramique, le verre et le vitrail, qu’on nomme souvent les «arts du feu», ont la particularité d’être intimement liés aux Quatre éléments. La terre ou le sable qui sont sous nos pieds en constituent la matière première. Les éléments bruts sont filtrés ou ramollis par l’eau; c’est ensuite le feu du four, nourri par l’air, qui transforme irrémédiablement la matière.

La liaison intime de la céramique et du verre avec la nature explique leur caractère ancestral, mais également l’attraction que ces matériaux suscitent toujours aujourd’hui, auprès des artistes comme dans l’industrie. Ils nous connectent avec la Nature. Vous l’avez compris, l’Ariana est bien plus qu’un musée de la tasse à thé!

Service à thé avec sucrier et pot à lait. Manufacture de porcelaine de Langenthal (Suisse), 1958 Porcelaine, décor imprimé
Service à thé avec sucrier et pot à lait. Manufacture de porcelaine de Langenthal (Suisse), 1958 Porcelaine, décor imprimé
© Mauro Magliani & Barbara Piovan

La céramique

Une histoire de voyage, entre Orient et Occident

L’arrivée de la blanche porcelaine chinoise, d’abord au Moyen-Orient puis en Europe, constitue l’un des bouleversements les plus importants de toute l’histoire de la céramique! Jusqu’au début du 18e siècle, l’Europe ignore le secret de fabrication de la porcelaine; les potiers recourent à des matériaux et techniques de substitution (terre cuite engobée, faïence ou porcelaine tendre) pour concurrencer ou imiter le précieux «or blanc».

La porcelaine arrive par bateaux dans les ports, au terme d’un long et périlleux voyage. Les commerçants européens, notamment la puissante Compagnie des Indes orientales néerlandaise, affrètent les navires. Il faut compter, lorsque tout se passe bien, 18 mois au minimum pour faire l’aller-retour et revenir à bon port.

Les motifs qui ornent les pièces, inspirés des codes de la peinture orientale, ne sont pas toujours compris des «longs nez» européens. Ils sont adaptés au goût occidental pour des décors chatoyants et chargés. Les lois du marché prennent parfois le pas sur la compréhension et le respect réciproque.

Afin d’élargir la demande, les marchands commandent des formes et des décors spécifiques aux porcelainiers chinois, allant même jusqu’à leur fournir des motifs soi-disant «orientaux».

Cobalt et kaolin : la céramique en bleu et blanc

Le décor bleu se détachant sur un fond blanc immaculé constitue l’archétype de la céramique chinoise. Il s’agit du binôme le plus courant parmi toutes les collections conservées au Musée Ariana.

Terres siliceuses persanes, faïences de Delft, porcelaines de Meissen ou décors imprimés en faïence fine anglaise : l’influence orientale est dominante, le bleu de cobalt omniprésent.

Le goût pour le bleu et blanc se poursuit, à travers le temps et les lieux, jusqu’à nos jours. Il illustre la richesse et la diversité des échanges culturels et commerciaux entre l’Extrême-Orient, le Moyen Orient et l’Europe. Nombre d’artistes contemporains détournent et réinventent sans fin le bleu et blanc.

L’oxyde de cobalt a été employé avec succès pour teinter ou décorer la céramique et le verre. Son fort pouvoir colorant suppose un usage parcimonieux, sa résistance aux températures les plus élevées du four est un atout précieux. Bleu vif, violacé ou noirâtre, le résultat dévoile parfois la provenance de l’extraction du précieux minerai. Aujourd’hui, le cobalt s’invite plutôt dans nos téléphones portables ou dans les batteries de nos voitures électriques.

Helvetica : la culture suisse a-t-elle une identité?

Le multilinguisme, l’art du compromis, les banques, le fromage, l’horlogerie, les montagnes et le chocolat se côtoient souvent dans l’esprit de celui ou de celle qui tente de dessiner les contours de l’Helvétie, ce petit pays niché au centre de l’Europe.

L’histoire suisse a longtemps entretenu les mythes d’une nation de paysans et montagnards, s’unissant contre l’ennemi pour sauver leur indépendance, ou d’un pays riche, terre d’accueil et de refuge, vivant en harmonie avec la nature. Les visions et les modes de vie sont bien différents entre ville et campagne, natifs et immigrés, alémaniques, romands et suisses italiens. Au croisement de multiples influences, cultivant le sérieux et la bienfacture, la Suisse est un pays complexe.

Les arts de la céramique et du verre suisses, du 14e siècle jusqu’à nos jours, reflètent cette suissitude contrastée et plurielle. Poêles et vaisselle en faïence de Winterthour, terrines et plats à rösti en terre cuite engobée des campagnes bernoises, bouteilles en verre émaillé de Flühli, services en porcelaine de Nyon ou assiettes en faïence fine de Carouge, groupes de figurines en porcelaine de Zurich: l’éventail des formes, techniques, décors et styles est étonnant et souvent méconnu.

Céramique et verre, un art et une industrie au défi de la rentabilité

Les mutations engendrées au 19e siècle par la Révolution industrielle touchent également la production en série de céramique et de verre. Provenance des matières premières, recherches technologiques, amélioration des fours et des combustibles, diffusion des produits finis : toutes les étapes de la fabrication sont optimisées en vue de leur rationalisation, mais sans perdre de vue la qualité.

Jusqu’à aujourd’hui la production de céramique et de verre à l’échelle industrielle ne cesse d’osciller entre impératifs économiques et artistiques. Deux facteurs mettent en danger les manufactures européennes : la concurrence des marchés d’Extrême-Orient et l’évolution de l’art de la table. Passer du dîner dominical – servi dans une vaisselle de fine porcelaine et des verres en cristal – au plateau repas avalé devant la télévision n’est pas sans conséquence !

En Suisse, la manufacture de porcelaine de Langenthal (1906), et les verreries de Saint-Prex (1911) sont emblématiques des turbulences qui secouent les arts de la table dans la seconde moitié du 20e siècle. La suite de l’histoire est souvent inexorable : Langenthal a été délocalisée en Tchéquie, Saint-Prex a renoncé à sa production artistique pour se limiter aux bocaux et bouteilles industrielles.

Création contemporaine… et décloisonnée

Longtemps considérée comme un artisanat, au service d’une production essentiellement utilitaire, la céramique change de statut au cours du 20e siècle. Divers courants artistiques, en Europe et aux Etats-Unis, visent à considérer la céramique comme un art à part entière. Le savoir-faire est provisoirement mis au second plan au profit de la liberté d’expression. Des artistes non céramistes, comme Lucio Fontana ou Pablo Picasso, s’emparent de ce matériau au potentiel infini; les disciplines artistiques se métissent et se décloisonnent.

Dès les années 1980, le Musée Ariana adopte une position forte en soutenant le large champ de l’expression contemporaine céramique et verre. Il développe des liens étroits avec les artistes, les écoles, les galeristes et les collectionneurs, organise des expositions, édite des publications et enrichit régulièrement ses collections dans ce domaine.

Au 21e siècle, les artistes vivant en Suisse témoignent d’une dynamique plurielle tandis que la postérité est stimulée par trois centres de formation professionnelle à Genève, Vevey et Berne/Bienne: véritable record pour un petit pays!

Verre et vitrail, un souffle virtuose

Le verre est aussi magique qu’une bulle de savon: à partir d’un mélange de sable, de soude et de chaux chauffé dans un creuset, le maître verrier souffle ou met en forme une matière visqueuse et incandescente. Il résulte de ce processus des récipients, des sculptures ou des plaques lisses et résistants, transparents ou colorés, qui captent la lumière.

L’évolution de cet art du feu en Europe, de la Renaissance à l’époque contemporaine, implique un éventail de techniques presque infini et un savoir-faire couronné de virtuosité: verre chatoyant cerclé de plomb, parant les vitraux des églises, verre gravé et filigrané par les artisans de l’île de Murano, verre peint aux émaux polychromes à Flühli dans le canton de Lucerne, verre coloré en couches superposées des maîtres de l’Art Nouveau ou verre contemporain réinterprétant toutes les techniques.

Qu’il s’invite sur les tables, s’intègre à l’architecture ou s’érige en sculpture, le verre accompagne et sublime notre quotidien.

Art spolié

Dans le contexte de la problématique de l'art spolié durant la période du National-Socialisme (1933-1945), le Musée Ariana a entrepris des recherches sur la provenance de ses collections.

Avec l’aide financière de la Confédération helvétique, le Musée Ariana a apporté plus de transparence dans l’origine historique de ses collections en :

  • étudiant la provenance de ses collections
  • améliorant son processus d’acceptation lors d’une nouvelle acquisition

Il est souvent difficile de retracer précisément l’histoire des objets dans le domaine des arts appliqués anciens. En effet, les œuvres (par exemple des figurines en porcelaine de Meissen) sont souvent des multiples ; seul le décor permet de les identifier de manière formelle, ce qui est impossible en l’absence de photographies. De plus, la céramique et le verre ne sont que très marginalement concernés par la question de l’art spolié, qui touche principalement la sphère des beaux-arts.
Soulignons enfin que, pour notre institution, les biens spoliés par les nazis ne représentent pas la seule problématique liée à la provenance des collections. La possession indue d’objets, notamment lors de fouilles de lieux de production ou d’utilisation, doit être soigneusement vérifiée. Ainsi, l’acceptation de nouvelles œuvres au sein de notre collection est aujourd’hui soumise à une procédure d’acquisition stricte.
Nous publions ici les résultats de cette étude qui se compose d'un rapport général avec ses cinq annexes, ainsi que de six études complémentaires concernant des objets dont la provenance entre 1933 et 1945 présentait des lacunes.